The Diaries of Adela Capel, 1st-4th July 1841

Audio footage of extracts from Adela's diary

Read by Charlotte Jordan

Published in the History and Description of Cassiobury Park by John Britton, 1837
Published in the History and Description of Cassiobury Park by John Britton, 1837

Thursday 1st July 1841

Rose at ½ past 7. After Breakfast went to see my fawn and my rabbits and found them quite well, but my fawn is very lame in one of its fore feet, but I have no doubt of Mrs Roberts rearing it. In the afternoon I rode about the Park on my pony and paid my usual visits.

Friday 2nd July 1841

Rose at ½ past 7. I stayed at home all the morning waiting the arrival of my company, the Miss Clarkes. They came about one o’clock. In the afternoon I took them all over and we had some famous fun among the woods and the hay-fields. We then drank tea at the farm.

Saturday 3rd July 1841

Rose at 5 minutes to 7. Went out with my friends in the garden. After Breakfast we played with the garden chair up and down the hills, and about 4 o’clock they went home. I should like very much a sister as a companion and then I should always enjoy myself. It is so much better to play with girls than boys, but as wishing is vain I must submit to the will of fate.!!!

Sunday 4th July 1841

Rose at 20 minutes to 8. After Breakfast went to Church and we were at home by one. I now miss my friends more than ever and only wish I was with them, and then I should be really happy, as happy as the day is long. But now I must go and take my solitary walk.

This page was added on 02/08/2010.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *