Hertfordshire Players

Drama at The Minack Theatre, Cornwall

By Robert Gill

The Minack Theatre
The Minack Theatre stage
Hertfordshire Players - The War of the Worlds
Minack Theatre
Hertfordshire Players - Trumpets and Drums
Robert Gill
Minack at Moonlight

Hertfordshire Players is an amateur drama company created to perform productions at the Minack Theatre in Cornwall. Formed in 1964, the company was originally called The Interluders, under this name five plays were presented. In 1972, the company was renamed Hertfordshire Players and has returned to the Minack every two years since. The company is made up of amateurs from across Hertfordshire. 

The Minack Theatre is an open air theatre on the cliff face at Porthcurno, Cornwall. Its creation began in 1928 when Rowena Cade started the process of developing a natural amphitheatre and terrace into a stage with seating. The first production was The Tempest in 1932 lit by torches, car headlights and moonlight.

Visit http://www.minack.com/ to find out more about the magic of Minack.

Productions presented by Hertfordshire Players and the earlier Interluders are:

Hertfordshire Players

2010       Trumpets and Drums

2008       The War of the Worlds

2006       The Three Musketeers

2004       A Midsummer Night’s Dream

2002       Pride and Prejudice

2000       Grimm Tales

1998       The Comedy of Errors

1996       The Madness of George III

1994       The Merchant of Venice

1992       Sweeney Todd

1990       Hard Times

1988       The Scarlet Pimpernel

1986       Dracula, The Undead  

1984       Nicholas Nickleby

1982       Dark of the Moon

1980       The Thwarting of Baron Bolligrew

1978       The Canterbury Tales

1976       Alice In Wonderland

1974       The Visit

1972       Sweeney Todd

The Interluders

1969       Richard III

1967       Doctor Faustus

1966       Tiger at the Gates

1965       Peer Gynt

1964       The Merchant of Venice

Each year, The Minack Theatre awards the prestigious Minack Trophy to the best production at the Theatre during the year. Hertfordshire Players has won the Trophy four times with:

2008       The War of the Worlds

2000       Grimm Tales

1996       The Madness of George III

1978       The Canterbury Tales

This page was added on 04/09/2011.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *