Standon. Church End Cottages

Colin Wilson

Church End Cottages. Oct 2016
Colin Wilson
2 Church End Cottages. Note the ornate chimney. Oct 2016
Colin Wilson
The door to 1 Paper Mill Lane. Jul 2020
Colin Wilson

This is a picturesque group of almshouses. Built in the 17th century, they were enlarged and altered in the Gothic style in the early 19th century. The structure was a wood frame and rough cast. The door frames are in the Tudor style. This information has been taken from Historic England’s website. A chance meeting with a resident revealed that the condition at rear of the premises was more original than the front. 

The only other reference found so far is a listing in Historic Atlas of Hertfordshire (although this list does not include the Hadham Road almshouses). Other sources make no mention of them. This includes Cussans, Chauncy, Clutterbuck and Victoria County History. Hertfordshire Archives holds no records, and Historic England’s website does not cite any references.

They are not noted as almshouses on the OS maps, although those in Hadham Road are labelled as such.

The building was listed as grade II by Historic England in Jan 1967.

A visit in 2016 elicited the information that the property was owned and let by a local farmer.


1 and 2 Paper Mill Lane, Standon
Georef:       539592 222163
Grid ref:     51o 52′ 51″N  0o 01′ 36″E


An Historical Atlas of Hertfordshire ed David Short p151
Hertfordshire Publications 2011
ISBN 978-9-9542189-6-6

OS 25” map Hertfordshire XXII.6 (Standon)
Surveyed: 1878
Published: 1879

Historic England (site accessed Jul 2020)

This page was added on 14/07/2020.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *