Redbourn Cricket Club, 1965

Harry Hobbs

By Geoff Webb

The Redbourn team is on the left hand side of the picture. Left to right: Bob Benn, John Luck, Geoff Webb, George Blair, Ron Walton, John Hobbs, Hugh Green, Harry Hobbs, David Torrey, Alan Batchelor. Tom Clarke (ex Surrey C.C.C.) is the umpire, Bryan Baxter and John Oliver is holding the shield. The Vauxhall C.C. team stands to the right hand side of the picture
Geoff Webb
Harry Hobbs and Bryan Baxter
Geoff Webb

The Ralph Oliver Shield Knockout Final at Wardown Park, Luton, 1965, Redbourn v Vauxhall Motors. 

Redbourn’s bid to win the shield was unsuccessful, but openers Harry Hobbs (in the lower photo below) and Bryan Baxter went out to do battle with grim determination.

This page was added on 28/04/2010.

Add your comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!