Ware Flour Mill was built by J.W French and Co in 1897. It closed barely 100 years later in 1983.
The buildings were scheduled for demolition to make way for 100 homes but fortunately, one developer saw their potential. McLean Homes (of North London) reaslised a sympathetic conversion could transform the disused mill in to a highly desirable place to live.
The grey “Frenlite” silo which was built in the 1960s was demolished and the cut to the Lea was filled in. The main building was sandblasted to reveal the colours of the original brickwork and architects from Bishop’s Stortford completed the plans. The unique apartments went on sale in 1988.